A quick thought on the writer’s strike. I didn’t think it would have that much of an effect on my life, but I was actually quite wrong. Sure some of my beloved shows are on hiatus, (The Office, Pushing Daisies, How I met your mother, and others I may or not be ashamed to say I like.) but I can put up with that. There isn’t a show that I can’t live without like say Firefly or Angel or Ed on television anymore. (24 has even lost it’s appeal to me.) So the lack of new scripted television to watch isn’t that big of a deal. Where it has affected me has been in my change of entertainment choices.

In the past, Mrs. Edge and I would put the kids to bed and turn on the DVR to watch the shows from the previous day or week that we had missed. Since the shows have stopped airing, I have turned to watching movies more often or playing video games. Thus began my rewatching of MST3K and the discovery of Rifftrax.

In other words, I’ve moved on. How about everyone else? Have you just started watching the programming that has replaced the shows you used to like? Are you watching Riverdancing with the Stars or Midget Biggest Loser? Or are you filling your time with other activities? I think that a lot of us have moved on. There are far too many entertainment choices out there these days. Internet, games, dvd’s . . . heck, there are even the great outdoors for you fetishists out there that actually leave your house.

I think that the networks are going to be surprised to see just how much of their audience has moved on.

The only thing that makes me nervous is when the strike is over and all the studios rush out movies based on hastily written first drafts of screenplays so that they can have their schedule filled. 2008 could be a filmic crap fest folks. You heard it here first.

TV’s Frank weighs in.

