This is a tribute to one of my favorite Comedy Actors of all time, Mr. Steve Martin. Now I realize that in recent years, the wheels have fallen off the wagon so to speak. But I remain a Steve Martin fan despite those failures.

I am going to list my top six and a half favorite and least favorite Steve Martin films. Just recognize that there are a few of his films that I have necer seen and some of them I have not seen since I was a kid. I know that there will be arguments, so feel free to post them in the comments section and we can go toe to toe.

The top 6 1/2 Steve Martin films of all time:

# 6 1/2: Little Shop of Horrors

Little Shop of Horrors is one of my favorite musicals. I saw it a lot as a kid (though with the darkness of the subject matter, maybe that is one of the things that twisted me into the insane person I am today. With that disturbing thought in mind, I am waiting a while longer before showing it to my own kids.) This only gets a 1/2 mention because even though his role is the best part of this movie, it is a minor role. Really this film belongs to Rick Moranis, who shows back up later in this list. I would go on about his portrayal but this is the Steve Martin appreciation post, so moving on.

#6 Bowfinger:

This film has the distinction of being the last really good film that either Steve Martin or Eddie Murphy has made. I know that Eddie Murphy stole the show, but Steve wrote this film as well as starred in it, and that seems to be the key to a good steve Martin film.

#5 Dirty Rotten Scoundrels:

Yes, that is a hilarious clip and one of the funniest scenes ever. This was a delightful movie. Funny in every way. What more can I say. For 4 more films to be ahead of it, you can see that Steve has had a brilliant career.

#4 Dead Men Dont Wear Plaid:

This film was the predeccessor to Forrest Gump. I know that your mind is stretching to find the link and I will let it continue to stretch. Think, what the heck is Edgewriter trying to say here? The two films are nothing alike. Is he crazy? Is he insane? Well I may or may not be, but my statement is true.

Forrest Gump totally rips off the idea of having the main character interact with people that aren’t actually in the film. In this case, Steve Martin’s character interacts with clips from old Film noir movies. Humphrey Bogart and James Cagney for instance. It is actually done rather seamlessly and makes for a hilarious experience.

#3 My Blue Heaven:

Steve Martin’s portrayal of a New york gangster in the witness relocation program is one of his best performances ever. This is a light hearted family comedy. I watched it countless times as a kid with my family. But most people wouldn’t even put it on their top ten list of Steve Martin movies. If you haven’t seen this film yet, trust me, you will enjoy it.

#2 Three Amigos:
This one deserves two clips. First The Three Amigos go into a bar where everyone thinks that they are cold hearted killers:

Then my personal favorite just for sentimental reasons:

Makes me smile every time. This is probably the funniest film Steve ever wrote. The only reason it isn’t number one is because it is an ensemble film. This film has more quotable funny lines than any other movie I can think of. If you have not seen it yet, fix that tragic error now. Join Netflix if you have to.

#1. Roxanne:

This has got to be in my favorite top ten films of all time. Steve once again wrote this one. It is hilarious and romantic. It is artistically his best film, his crowning achievement.

Honorable mentions:

These films are all worth seeing, but did not make the list only because I limited myself. I know that some people will totally disagree. But that is why this is my blog and not yours so there.

The Jerk (most people’s number one.)
Another you (I really wanted to include this one)
LA Story (Has moments of brilliance)
Father of the Bride 1 and 2
Planes Trains and Automobiles

Now for the worst:
Steve has made some stinkers, folks. For the most part, it isn’t Steve’s role in the film that made it stink. He did not write any of them. However, he did decide to appear in them, so he cannot be completely blameless for these turds. I will try not to show you videos unless it is absolutely neccesary.

#6 Sgt Bilko
This one bored me. It was the first evidence I saw of him being unfunny.

#5 Parenthood:
Evidently some people have a soft spot for this film. Steve’s part was pretty good, but yuck man, the subject matter stunk. It was about the sucky parts of being a parent and a lot of it is pretty depressing. It isn’t a film I would like to share with anyone. It was directed by Ron Howard too by the way and I usually like his films.

#4 Novocaine:
Yet another film that is meant to be funny but is actually quite depressing

#3 Cheaper By the Dozen
Mindless hollywood Trash.

#2 Cheaper By the Dozen 2

Even more mindless and trashy hollywood slush.

#1 Pennies from Heaven
He tried to be more artsy here. He was trying to get away from his goofy reputation and make something more serious. What came about was one of the most depressing musicals of all time.

Only one good thing came of this film. He had to promote it. The following clip shows just how brilliant and talented Steve really is.

Finally

#1/2 Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Heart Club Band

He only has one short part in this, but it is probably his worst performance ever. Man this movie stinks. It will suck the life out of you. Seek it out at your own risk. At least you are lucky that I could not find the video of Steve’s performance, but you catch a glimpse of it in the trailer.

Finally let me leave you with one last clip. Steve plays the Banjo:

