Real estate values in Hobbiton through the roof right now

The long awaited LOTR Blooper reel was just released.

Hilarious. I love Rudy’s bit at the end.

For those of you not in the loop, Peter Jackson and New Line Cinema finally settled the dissagreements they had over the revenues from the Lord of the Rings trilogy out of court and Peter is taking on The Hobbit. Unfortunately it took so long to settle things that Peter has already filled his plate with other projects and has decided not to direct the Hobbit himself. Instead it looks like the one filling those furry feet will be Guillermo Del Toro.

Guillermo Del Toro

Del Toro looks quite Hobbity himself, which is a prerequisite for the job. You can’t fault his movie credentials either. His resume is uncannily similar to Peter Jackson’s resume prior to directing the LOTR films. He has done horror films like Cronos and Mimic and Blade 2 before branching out to acclaim with Pan’s Labyrinth.

Actually with those films, his style is very mich like Jackson’s own. He has a knack for action, a steady hand with the camera, and an exuberant geekiness which bolsters his qualifications. Peter has also stated that he will be heavily involved. The original designers and crew are coming back as well as WETA. So it sounds like the transition could be pretty seamless.

The plan is for two films to be made. The first one being a direct adaptation of the Hobbit, with the second film focusing mainly on the period of time between the Hobbit and the Lord of the rings. This gives plenty of opportunity for most of the original LOTR cast to make appearances.

The Silmarillion

Tolkein kept detailed notes and writings of the history of Middle Earth including the time period between The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. Some of it was published in The Silmarillion and other works. The Tolkein family holds the rights to the rest of it. It will be very interesting to see what Peter and Guillermo do to fill in that gap. I wonder how much will be original Tolkein story and how much will be created by the writers of the film?

Hopefully Phillipa Boyens and Fran Walsch will be back as the writers on the new films. It should be fun to find out to say the least and it is hard for me to imagine Peter and Guillermo falling on their collective faces with so much at risk.

Alas we probably won’t know more until after the writer’s strike is over. Here’s hoping that they settle things soon so that we as the consumers can get on with our entertainment. I am tired of reality shows and reruns.

Peter and his Hobbit hole

At any rate, what with all the excitement over The Hobbit finally getting underway, I thought I would do a short Lord of the Rings tribute.

I read the books a long time ago and re-read them as the films came out. I adore the movies. They are my favorite films of all time. My wife and I eargerly awaited each one as they came out. We bought both theatrical and Extended editions. We watched all the hours of special features on each disk until we felt so intimate with the movies it was like we had a part in creating them ourselves.

So to celebrate the best movies ever, how about lampooning them? I’ll start with the Rifftrax version of Fellowship because of my Rifftrax obsession. First you will see the trailer, followed by some clips of the riffed version. I truly enjoyed watching the film with Mike and Kevin’s commentary. They are big fans of the films as well so the commentary never offends. It was a fun way to see it again.

Here is a hilarious video retelling the romance of the Lord of the Rings trilogy with a different perspective:

The lord of the Rings A-team:

I saw this a while ago. It still cracks me up:

I almost didn’t include this one but I had to just for Aragorn’s entrance:

I’ll end with a music video montage that makes me want to watch the films all over again right now:

