Fargin weather

Roman Moronie wants you to know.

driveway in Idaho

I thought I would pitch in with a, “Heck yeah it is.” Above you can see the view from my garage. This is just before I shoveled for the 150th time this winter.

It started snowing two weeks before Christmas and even though it doesn’t snow every day, it hasn’t melted. It just accumulates. The piles of snow grow higher and higher.

I’m six-foot-three tall, dark, and handsome. Yet still the snow drift is up to my midriff. My son is half my height and as you can see, the piles of snow on either side of the driveway reach over his head.

cold-one-w-sonl.jpg

I spent most of my childhood in Bountiful Utah. We got a lot of snow up there every winter. I remember the piles of snow getting huge when I was a kid. Well this year in Idaho we are getting as much snow as I have ever seen. Look at my front porch.

cold-4-porch.jpg

The big difference between living in Utah and living here though is the roads. In Utah, the plows run all the time when it is snowing. They would put stuff down on the streets to keep it from icing too. And it didn’t matter where you lived. If you were in the city or the suburbs, they kept the roads clear.

Well check out my street.

cold-3-sidewalk.jpg

Here in Idaho they try to keep the main roads plowed, but the side streets are mostly ignored. If we are lucky, they plow through once a week or so. The only reason we can get out of our neighborhoods is that the snow in the streets is packed down by the tires of people’s cars as they come and go.

If it starts to warm up a little in the day, the top layers of snow turn to slush. Then the slush freezes overnight. The end result is that from the first winter snow until everything melts in the spring, the side roads are covered in a solid pack of ice and snow.

So to those folks living in sunny Florida, we in Idaho send you a hearty SCREW YOU. You can return the favor to us during hurricane season this summer.

With love,

Edgewriter.

Even though this did not happen in Idaho, you get the idea.

Oh and don’t forget. It’s COMING.

UPDATE 2/6/08

I woke up this morning to a FOOT of snow on the driveway. That happened overnight. SO I was up early shoveling more snow than I have in my life.

